Sachin Pilot inducted into Congress’s central leadership

The revamped Congress Working Committee (CWC), which was announced by party president Mallikarjun Kharge on August 20 to coincide with the 79th birthday anniversary of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi, includes Lok Sabha members Shashi Tharoor and Rajasthan Congress leader Sachin Pilot. Rahul Gandhi and Sonia Gandhi, the leaders of the Congress Parliamentary Party, are CWC members by virtue of having served as presidents of the Congress. Former Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh is also a member of the core CWC. In addition, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra is a core member of the CWC.

Pilot got place in CWC after 3 years

Congress leader Sachin Pilot has got a place in the Congress Working Committee after three years. In July 2020, when he took a rebellious stand. Then he was removed from all posts. Former Lok Sabha MP from Alwar and former Union Minister Bhanwar Jitendra Singh, Jodhpur resident senior leader Abhishek Manu Singhvi and Gehlot government’s cabinet minister Mahendrajit Singh Malviya have also been made original members of the committee. While Mohan Prakash, who was MLA from Rajkheda (Dhaulpur) along with Harish Chowdhary, in-charge of Punjab and Congress from Baytu, has been included in the permanent members. Aggressive Congress spokesperson Pawan Khera, who hails from Udaipur, has been made a special invitee.

Nearly six months after Mr. Kharge was granted permission to propose candidates for the CWC at the Raipur plenary session on February 24, the new CWC has been named. There are 18 permanent, 14 in-charges, 9 special invitees, and the heads of frontline organisations, while the main CWC has grown from 24 to 39.

Former Finance Minister P. Chidambaram, former chief ministers of Maharashtra and Madhya, Digvijaya Singh and Ashok Chavan, former speaker Meira Kumar, former chief minister of Punjab Charanjit Singh Channi, former members of the Lok Sabha Deepa Dasmunshi and Gaurav Gogoi, and former members of the Rajya Sabha Syed Naseer Hussain are also notable inclusions in the core CWC.

Manish Tewari, a member of the Lok Sabha, prominent leader from Kerala Ramesh Chennithala, a former civil servant turned politician, and Kodikunil Suresh and Priniti Shinde have all been given permanent invitations.

While Kanhaiya Kumar serves in the CWC as the in charge of the students’ wing, younger leaders Alka Lamba, Supriya Shrinate, and Pawan Khera have been given special invitations.

Also Read: TCS onboards 44,000 freshers in FY23, honors all job offers

Keep watching our YouTube Channel ‘ News NCR’. Also, please subscribe and follow us on FACEBOOK

Leave a Comment